I’m going to show you my system to optimize an email campaign for sales.
Normally when we talk about optimizing for sales, we talk about optimizing a sales page. We talked about this idea that we’re going to start with a page that converts at 3% and we’re going to optimize. Let’s split the headline test. Let’s split the proof of supply. Let’s split the price test. Let’s break the test down into these different pieces. Let’s get conversions up. That is an effective way to increase conversion rates.
I want to give you an alternative method. In fact, maybe alternating isn’t the right word. Perhaps an additional method. Something you can do besides optimizing on page.
What this will do is optimize the conversion rate of your entire email campaign.
Let me explain: I want you to imagine that you have 100 subscribers.
Hopefully you are generating 1k subscribers, or 5k subscribers, a month. Let’s say we work with a subset of 100 people. 100 people enter your campaign.
Now, there are a few different ways that we can view your business. We can see the conversion rate of your sales page. And let’s say it’s 4%. And maybe 50 of your subscribers will see it at some point. And 4% buy, so you make 2 sales.
Now it’s easy for us to look at this and say “That’s a 4% conversion rate.”
You’re right, it’s 4% for people who actually watch it.
But if you think about it, it’s really only a 2% conversion rate of subscribers.
In a theoretical world, we could spend a lot of time increasing things from 4% to 8%. But if we keep getting the same 50 people on that website, we’ll just double the sales. Instead of 2 people buying, we would have 4 people buying. It has gone from 4% to 8%.
Imagine if we did something else.
Imagine if instead of getting 50 views from the same 100 subscribers, we could get 100 views.
What if we could find a way to get double our subscribers to watch it?
What would happen to our sales then?
Now they would double, not based on improving the conversion rate on our sales page, but they would double based on the fact that twice as many people are viewing the page. Now we have 100 subscribers, 100 people view the sales page at 4%, so now we get 4 sales out of 100 doing nothing on the sales page.
Now obviously if we increase the sales page to 8% and we get 100 people to view the sales page, what happens? Well now we are going to have 8 sales.
In both scenarios, we initially raise sales from 2% of subscribers to 4% of subscribers. But when we combine them we quadruple sales from 2% subscribers to 8% subscriber conversion.